Why I Chose WordPress Over Weebly

I originally wanted to create my site with Weebly, but after encountering the frustrations below, I chose to move it to WordPress after all. Hopefully this will save someone some time and headache.

Why Weebly at first?

Well:
1. it had the address I wanted, which was taken on WordPress.
2. Its drag and drop editing is intuitive, and I really liked it.
3. Weebly lets you set up your site before deciding on the website address. You can even change the name of the site any time you want! Since I have problems deciding on names, it was useful for me.
4. Disqus! You can add Disqus to the free website! How cool is that?

All these things got me to set up a website at Weebly first. But soon the trouble started:

1. Bad Blogging User Interface

When I wrote blog posts, it was within the editor; you couldn’t do a standalone page. That meant most of my screen was filled with clutter I didn’t need, leaving the space to write very small. I would have been okay with this, but then Firefox had issues when I tried to click on the title of each post to edit it.

2. No Free Custom Favicon

A favicon is the icon displayed in the address bar. Not a big issue, but I’d rather have the option.

3. No Free HTTPS Encryption

I like my websites to be secure, so HTTPS was important to me. Unfortunately, I had to pay for this if I wanted it on Weebly. I was reluctant to compromise on this, but I thought okay, let’s give it a try first. There’s nothing that important on my website anyway.

But the fourth and last reason was really why I quit:

4. No Built-In Email Subscription.

This one really did it for me. Weebly had no built-in email subscription; you had to set up FeedBurner or MailChimp yourself. Then I found this gem:

“What about letting visitors sign up for an email list that automatically pings them when you create a new blog post? We don’t recommend it. […] aside from Google’s […] Feedburner service, there isn’t am automated email notification system that will ping subscribers every time you publish a post.

If you really want to keep visitors updated via email, it’s better to have them sign-up for a Newsletter mailing list and then regularly send them an email (maybe once a month or every two weeks) using your favorite posts as the content of that newsletter to encourage them to come back and read what you’ve written.”

Nope, that will not work for me.

Ultimately, Weebly is an e-commerce site first, a blogging site second.

And that’s why I moved – some features I really liked for blogging were locked behind a paywall in Weebly, but it was free in WordPress. Other features in Weebly – eh, I could do without (although it did sting a bit. Especially the Disqus feature). Weebly’s target audience, after all, is e-commerce people.

Bye, Weebly! It was fun knowing you.

Leave a Reply

