How to Make Your Own Bicycle Raincoat

Finished product:

bike2

In Singapore, some bike parking places don’t have sheltered parking. Here’s how I made my own raincoat for my bike. Basically, I used an iron to meld two disposable raincoats together to make the raincoat.

Unfortunately I didn’t take photos of the process, so have some quick inside-of-the-envelope sketches (yes I drew them on an actual envelope and a letter).

Time taken: 3 hours (should be faster if you know what you’re doing. I was experimenting too.)

Materials needed

1. Scissors
2. 2 disposable raincoats/other plastic (my bike was quite big – it had a basket and antler-like handles, so I used 2. Source these from home or friends. I got it from home – I have way too many of these. Don’t buy! Plastic bags will do too but it’ll be more complicated.)
3. Iron

Steps:

1. Cut the two raincoats along dotted lines.
1

Note that the horizontal-ish cut also connects to the base of the head hole. I cut it this way to reduce the number of holes in the raincoat. At first, there were 4 holes – 2 arm holes, 1 head hole and the hole at the bottom of the raincoat. After cutting, it’s just a piece of plastic with 1 arm hole.

2. Seal the remaining arm hole with your iron.

2

Set it to nylon/silk. It’s really thin plastic, so be careful. Do it in a well-ventilated area, in case plastic fumes come out. I put the iron directly on the plastic, counted to three, then took it off. I “dabbed” the plastic with the iron and didn’t drag it across. If it doesn’t stick, count to five instead, or slowly adjust the iron temperature. If the plastic melts to the iron, lower the temperature and let the plastic cool before you peel it off in one piece. I poured water over the iron to make it cool faster (a bit wasteful though).

I think it’d have been better if I had baking paper, for example, between the plastic and the iron. This way, the plastic that I accidentally melted onto the iron could have been removed easily before I try again.

3. When spread out, your raincoat should look something like this.

3

At this stage, you might want to check if the raincoat covers your bike well and adjust accordingly. For me, I realised that I should do step 4:

4. Merge the top of the arms to the sides of the hoodie

Overlap the layers of plastic and “dab” along until it’s sealed.

4

5. Repeat 1-4 for another raincoat.

6. Merge the two raincoats along what used to be the bottom of the raincoat.

A pencil drawing. Make your own bicycle raincoat step 6: merge the two raincoats together

Done!

Bicycle under a transparent raincoat
You’ll notice that there’s a stripe of wrinkles cutting across the raincoat in the middle. That’s where I ironed them together.

Alternatively…

You could always just drape the raincoats over after step 1, and tie a knot in the armhole. But beware of wind – I’d think it’d be blown away pretty easily.

Leave a Reply

